NaNoWriMo Day 15

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 11.19.11 PM

The big 15.  Today is the halfway point for NaNoWriMo.  I can’t believe it’s already been two weeks and that the month is half over.  The time has flown by.

To give you an idea of where we should be at, the goal for day 15 is 25,000 words.  As of today I am at 32,172, a buffer of just over 7,000 words (that feels good).

We are supposed to average 1667 words per day.  My average is 2144, which is not bad considering that I did not write on 3 of those 15 days.  That’s right – big fat zeros.

The good news, though, is that I only have to write 1115 words per day for the rest of the month to finish.

But enough about the boring numbers.  Let’s talk about the story.

So, as you know, I have been flying by the seat of my pants, literally.  Each day I am excited to find out what was going to happen in my story.  As I neared the 30,000 word mark (approximately 1/3 of the way through my novel), I started getting concerned.  I liked where the story was going, but I really had no idea what the end game was going to be.  I had been kicking around some very general ideas in my head, but none of them were tied to anything specific in the story.  It is actually something that has weighed heavily on my mind the past few days.

Today, however, I sat down to write for fun and didn’t even think about that stuff.  So, there I was, writing away, fingers flying across the keyboard, and all of a sudden it just happened.  I realized what had to happen for the story to be complete.  That revelation immediately led to a second that I definitely was not anticipating but which adds a very good element to the overall story.

I actually stopped typing for a second and just smiled as I read back over what I had just written.  WOW!

So the good news is that I now know what I have to do.  The bad news is that I still have to make it happen.  But the story is quickly progressing in the right direction.  I no longer feel like my story is a ship without a rudder.

So, for what it’s worth, I thought I would give a little status update.

I’m so excited to find out what’s going to happen tomorrow.

JSE

Leave a Reply

