NaNoWriMo day 11

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 10.19.17 PM

Goal: 1667

Written: 4645

Today was a HUGE day for several reasons.  First. I wrote over 4,600 words.  That’s a lot of words.  The Gettysburg address was 272 words.  The Declaration of Independence has 1,458 words.  Heck, the entire constitution only has 4,543 words (according to Google – I didn’t count myself).  Now, before you get all uptight that I’m comparing my YA dystopian to the US Constitution, I’m not.  But, most of you have read or at least seen the constitution and have an idea how long it is.  Back to my original point.  That’s a lot of writing for a single day (especially a day when I worked at my other job).

Today is also a milestone because I hit the 25,000 word mark on my story.  Thats 25,000 words in 11 days.  That’s close to an all time record for me.

This novel won’t be done at 50,000 words.  Right now I’m guessing it’s going to come in somewhere around 75,000-90,000 words.  A good length.

They say that when you enjoy your job you never have to work another day in your life.  I’m feeling that way right now about writing.  This story is really fun.  I look forward to it each day while I’m working, anxious to get back to my mac in the evening so I can start writing.  So I can find out what happens next.  Remember those old Choose Your Own Adventure stories?  I used to love those as a kid.  Every so many pages you’d be faced with a decision.  If you chose to do X you had to go to page 23.  If you chose Y you had to go to page 37.  That sort of thing.  You never knew where your choices would get you.  I feel much the same way with this story.  Not the slightest clue where it’s going, but I’m so excited to find out!!!

As you can imagine, my fingers are tired.  I’m going to wrap it up.  Wish me luck for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

