NaNoWriMo Day 4

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 11.09.44 PM

Goal: 1667
Actual: 2322

Today ended up being a good day despite early indications to the contrary.  I got up early so that I could wrap up my work and get started writing.  However, things just didn’t work out, and with kids and church activities and shopping, I didn’t get to sit down at my laptop until after 9:30.  I was tired and cranky and just not terribly motivated.  But, I had a slow day yesterday, and I promised myself that I would hit it hard.

Thankfully, once I started writing the words came.

As I mentioned before, I don’t have a single plan about this story.  It is discovery writing in its purest form.  I literally don’t know from one day to the next what is going to happen.  I’m as excited as you are to find out.   It is pure stream of consciousness writing.

Thankfully I type freakishly fast, and so it makes the writing go quickly.  The downside to discovery writing is that sometimes I find myself at a spot where I just don’t know what to do, and I have to sit there twiddling my thumbs until I figure it out.  But, once I do, then the words flow again.

I hit the 10,000 word mark today.  10,295 to be precise.  The on-track target for today is 6,666 words, so I have a buffer of almost 4000 words.  Thats about 3 days worth of writing, which makes me happy.  I know there are days where I won’t be able to write my full amount, or even any of it.  So, the more good days I can cram in during the beginning, the better off I’ll be later.  A couple years ago I got so busy toward the end of the month that I went 8 days or so without writing a word.  But, thankfully I had built up so much of a buffer in the beginning weeks that I was still able to complete with a couple marathon sprints at the end.  Hopefully that won’t be needed here.

I wish I could meet some more people doing NaNo.  I see on my stats that my city has written almost 1.75 million words for this year.  I don’t know a single other real life person in my city doing it.  The only people I know are through www.nanowrimo.org or else through my online writing group.

I know they occasionally do get togethers where everyone meets up at a local coffee shop with their laptops to do writing sprints together.  I might have to see about doing that this year.  Of course, I say that every year and have yet to do it.  🙂

Any of you doing NaNo this year?  What are you working on?  I’d love to hear.

Leave a Reply

