NaNoWriMo – Day 2

Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 10.50.40 PM

Writing Goal: 1667 Words

Actual Written: 4033 Words

What an amazing day!  It’s funny how I could go from not hardly writing a single word for a year, and not even wanting to do NaNo, to suddenly craving the keyboard.  Yesterday afternoon I didn’t even have a story in mind.  Now I can’t wait to find out what happens.

I actually got up extra early today and worked hard all day so that I could wrap up early and start writing.  I haven’t felt this way in a LONG time.

For those of you who have never done NaNoWriMo, the idea is to write 50,000 words during the 30 days of November.  That works out to an average of 1667 words each day.

I don’t remember the last time I wrote 4033 words in a single day.  I’m at 6654 words in 2 days. That’s where I should be by day 4.  It feels good to have a bit of a cushion.

I’m also having a lot of fun with this story.  It’s a much different type of story than I’ve written before.  I’ve written epic fantasy and political thriller, both of which are written to an older audience and use a higher level of language.  This YA is being really fun because it’s written to a younger audience.  It lets me do things with my writing that I haven’t been able to do before.  I’m excited to see where this goes…

Leave a Reply

