NaNoWriMo 2015 – Day 1 (2667 words)

It’s been said that the only difference between a writer and a non-writer is that a writer writes!

It has been a long time since I’ve posted anything on here. Way too long.

If you know me at all, you know I’m a HUGE fan of NaNoWriMo. It’s what got me to finish the first draft of my novel. Granted, I bent the rules just a little, because you’re supposed to write a new novel each time. But, I figured that the real goal of NaNo is to write, and that’s what it got me to do.

I didn’t compete last year, which means I’ve gone a while without writing. Nothing forces you to sit your but in a chair with your hands on a keyboard like the looming daily word count requirement of NaNo.

I’ve been toying with the idea of competing again this year for a couple months now. November is always a special month for me when it comes to writing. The problem is that I have a first draft of a completed epic fantasy novel that needs revising. I’ve been wanting to get that finished for a long time so that I could either submit it for publication or epub it myself (yet to be decided). Putting that off for another month to do NaNo, and then having 2 manuscripts needing revising seemed a bit overwhelming to me. But, at the same time, I really, really wanted to start writing again. It has just been too long.

Earlier today, one of the members of my writing group sent me an email, and I replied with this same general dilemma. Only, I told him that I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to NaNo so that I could focus on revising my 1st draft.

Alas, it wasn’t to be. The call of NaNoWriMo proved too great. Before I knew it I was seated in front of my mac, Scrivener open, and a black cursor blinking repeatedly on a blank page. I had decided to do it. I would compete. Only one problem: I didn’t even have a concept for a book, let alone a thought-out storyline.

In fairness, I find that I am a discovery writer. But, even for me, this was a bit scarce. After sitting there staring at the blinking cursor for 10 minutes, I finally decided to just start writing. I knew it would be YA, but that’s it. I wasn’t sure if it would be fantasy or dystopian (I’d been toying with both). So I literally just started hitting keys. I didn’t know if my main character would be male or female. A few keystrokes later I learned it was a girl. A couple paragraphs later and it turns out it’s a dystopian story. The fantasy YA will have to wait, I guess.

I really, really didn’t know what I was writing about, but I kept writing. All I knew was that I needed to at least hit the daily NaNo goal of 1667 words. At about the thousand word mark an idea started forming in my head. However, it meant I had to go back to the 400 word mark and delete everything after that and redo it. More keystrokes, and the story started to take shape.

Before I knew it, I had written 2667 words and have a really fun idea for a story.

I have so many questions. Where will it go. What will happen. I’m so excited to find out. I finally reached a point where I had a major decision to make that will affect the entirety of the story. It wasn’t coming, so I finally shut down. I’m going to let it percolate and sleep on it. Hopefully I’ll know by tomorrow when I get home from work.

Anyway, at least I’m FINALLY writing. I’m a writer again.

I’ll keep you updated on NaNoWriMo progress.

Wish me luck!!!

Leave a Reply

