getting the ball rolling

If I had a dollar for every post on this blog about getting started writing, I’d probably have enough money that I wouldn’t need to actually write.

But this is something that has weighed heavily on my mind, of late.  I could say a lot here, but I won’t.  The short answer is that I want to be a writer.  Not just a writer who plunks down in front of his laptop for 30 days each November for NaNoWriMo.  Not the sort who likes to say he’s a writer when talking to his friends.  I’m talking a genuine, full-time published author.  I want to write books.  Full-time.  And make money doing it.  I heard a quote once, which I may have even quoted here in a previous post.  But I’m going to share it again.  It goes something like this:  a person from an audience walked up to a master musician after a beautiful performance and said, “I’d give anything to be able to play like that.”  The musician responded simply, “no you wouldn’t, or you would.”

I feel the same way about writing.  I say all the time, “I’d give anything to be a published author.”  Yet I don’t write.  I am tired when I get home from work.  I have kids and a wife.  I have scouts and church.  In short, I have no lack of excuses.  But, regardless of which I choose, I just don’t write.  For example, I’ve had a completed first draft of my novel on my computer for the past 9 months.  Have I sat down even once to start revising?  Working on the second draft?  Contacting agents?  Anything?  NO!  So, how can I say I’d give anything to be a published author when I don’t even have the dedication to finish my book.

That all changes today.  I have time set aside tonight to start my revision.  Draft 2.0 is on the horizon.  I have set a goal to either submit my novel for publication to an editor or else epublish it myself by the end of this year.  That gives me just short of four months.  I can easily do that if I stick with it. 

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

