NaNoWriMo Day #25

I almost gave up today, I’m not going to lie to you.  We didn’t have any plans today, so I thought I would get an early start (and by early I mean starting around 6 or 7  instead of 10:00 like I normally do).  Every word seemed to drag out.  I would type and type and type and then lose heart when I saw I had only typed 300 or so words.  Not that 300 is a bad little chunk, but when you have a daily writing goal of 5,000 to catch up, it’s just not even enough to put a dent in it.

The first couple hours seemed to just trudge by.  I took several breaks.  Watched a little tv with my family.  I felt like I had to fight for each and every word.  Finally I could see the light at the end of the tunnel.  And then the material started flowing.  I didn’t even realize it, but part of the problem was that I was just writing a difficult scene that I wasn’t sure how to play out.  I finally hit the 5,000 mark, and then didn’t want to stop, writing another 1,085 words before finally quitting with 6,085 words on the day.  That’s two days in a row in excess of 6,000 words.  That’s without a doubt a record for me.

I crossed the 50% threshold tonight, ending up at 53% of the NaNoWriMo goal for the month.  As of right now I have a total of 26,638 words written.  The target goal for today is at 40,000 words.  So, I’m just over 13,000 behind.  With 23,000 and some change and only 6 days left to go, that leaves me at just under 4,000 words a day I need to be writing.  3,894 to be exact.  I”m hopeful I can make another good dent in it tomorrow since it’s my last weekend day before  the end of the month (NaNo ends on Friday of this coming week).  Thankfully I have a pretty relaxing week as far as evening commitments go, but I don’t want to leave anything to chance.  I WILL win this!

Leave a Reply

