NaNoWriMo Day #25

Wow.  Another 5,208 words written today.  I can’t believe how quickly it is coming along now.  In the last three days I’ve written over 17,000 words.  That’s crazy for me to think about.  I hit 31,846 words today.  I should be at 41,666, which puts me just 10,000 words behind schedule.  Because I’ve hit it hard, I only have to write about 3,600 words per day for the next 5 days to make it.  That’s much more manageable than the 4500 or so I had to write when I first got going again.

Even better than seeing I’m closing in on my goal of winning NaNo again this year is seeing my novel progress.  I’ve never generated so much new material in such a short amount of time.  I can’t believe how far my story has come in the past three days.  I’m getting excited because the end is in sight.

Today I had an interesting experience.  All of a sudden I found myself in a situation where I had written myself into a corner.  I had two different story arcs which converged and I realized all of a sudden that the two could not work together.  I tried to think of how I could go back and change either one, but neither could be changed.  I sat staring at my computer for almost an hour trying to figure out how I was going to reconcile these two conflicting fact patterns.  A solution finally presented itself, and I’m very happy with it.  I had to try to be honest and not let it simply be magically fixed.  It required a solution that was real and could fit into the story.  Overall, though, I’m happy with it.  I do think that when I go back through and do my rewrite that I’m going to have to do some tweaks in this regard to make the solution seem less arbitrary, but it’s easily doable.

Anyway, this entry is going to be short tonight.  I’ve got some tired fingers after typing so many words the last few days.  I wanted to throw in a screenshot of my current NaNo progress, but for some reason it’s not letting me upload tonight.  I’ll put one on tomorrow.

More good stuff to come tomorrow!  Thank you to everyone who has been reading and following along.  Your “likes” are encouraging.

I can’t wait for you all to read this someday.

JSE

Leave a Reply

