NaNoWriMo Day #7

Daily Writing Goal: 1667 words

Actual Words Written: 2077 words

Total Words Written: 13508 words

First, I just wanted to thank all those who read my last post.  I enjoyed your comments and “likes.”  It’s great to meet fellow writers and discover your blogs.

This has been an interesting NaNo for me.  As you know, I got a slow start.  I’ve already missed 2 of the 7 days because of (1: having to spend a day rereading material to get caught up, and 2: giving tours at an open house and then watching the presidential election).

Fortunately, the material has been flowing nicely, and I’m able to build a cushion each day I write.  In fact, of the 5 days I’ve actually written, I’ve always had more than the daily goal.  I typically try to write 2500 words at a sitting.  Right now my daily average for the 7 days is 1930 words a day, but that’s with actually only writing 5 of the 7 days.  My actual average for days written is 2691 words per day.  I can live with that.

It’s been so nice writing again.  I forget how much I love it.  For those of you who don’t know, I am an attorney by day.  While I enjoy what I do some days, many days I don’t.  My whole life I’ve wanted to be a professional writer.  Now that I’m writing again and loving it so much, it makes me realize how great it would be to be able to shut the door to my law practice forever and pursue my dream every single day.  I’m hoping this will give me the push I need to do it.

I’m on track to have my entire first draft completed at the conclusion of this month.  That is an overwhelmingly exciting thought to me.  The thought of finishing the first draft and actually being able to edit and rewrite is intoxicating.  That would put me so much closer to my goal of actually submitting this book for publication (which brings up an interesting point).

We are at an interesting fork in the road, if you will, from a publishing standpoint.  The invention of the eReader has made self publishing so much easier than it ever was before.  In fact, a person can epublish their own works for pretty much nothing.  No out-of-pocket outlay for production costs, inventory storage and shipping, etc.  But, the problem with that is that everyone is doing it.  There are so many BAD books being published filled with poor writing, spelling errors, etc., all the stuff that a good editor can help you find and fix.

I have no doubt that at some point in my career I will self publish my own writing, even if just little side novellas.  But, I have always wanted to see my books on the shelves at Barnes and Noble.  I’ve always wanted to sit at a table at a book signing with fans lined up to meet me.  That’s something you just don’t get if you don’t use a traditional publisher.

I’m obviously not the expert on this, and lots others have WAY more experience than I do. But those are my thoughts as of today.  Of course, I am a lawyer.  “I reserve the right to amend” is a phrase I use often.

What are your thoughts with your writing?  Epub?  Traditional publishing house?  I’d be interested to hear.

Leave a Reply

