a refresher

So I sat down to start writing for pretty much the first time in 6 months.  I stared at the screen for a few minutes, unsure of what to write because I couldn’t remember exactly where I was at in the story and what I had planned going immediately forward.

I read back several pages and tried again.  I plunked out a few hundred words, but it was weak and unconfident.  So, I’m realizing there is just no way I can do it without going back through and rereading my story.  I’m just shy of 100,000 words.  That’s almost 430 manuscript pages.  Too many characters and items and places and ideas to remember without having dealt with them in half a year.  So, I’m changing back into reading mode for the rest of today and probably tomorrow to catch back up with where I was at, and then the words will start flowing.

2 thoughts on “a refresher

  1. Beth! Thank you, and good to see you. It’s good to be back. It’s amazing how quick a short break can turn into a half a year hiatus without even realizing. I think I’m back now for a while, so it will be good to see you around!!! Talk to you soon…

Leave a Reply

