getting back on the horse

Hello again.  After finishing NaNoWriMo at the end of last month, I sort of went on writing hiatus.  I had big plans to continue in grand fashion and punch out a ton more words on my novel throughout this month.  That didn’t happen.  I have lots of great excuses, none of which really excuse the failure. I think I wrote 900 or so words one day this month.

So I sat down the other night to start writing again and realized that we’re once again coming up on the deadline to submit for the Writers of the Future contest.  I’ve been wanting to submit to this for a while now.  You’ll remember from a few months ago that my writing group was working on an anthology of short stories which we were going to epub.  That project fell through toward the end, but not before I had finished the draft of my story.  I told myself then that I was going to refine the story and submit it to WotF.  The contest accepts submissions each quarter.  Well, that quarter came and went, and we’re now less than 2 weeks from the end of the next.  So, once I realized this, I sat down and decided that I would get back on the stick and finish my story to submit it before the end of December.  I hadn’t read it since the project fell part months ago.  I actually quite like it.  I started reading and editing and pretty soon I had actually increased the word count.  I know.  I know.  That’s going the wrong way.  But, I couldn’t help it.  I had always planned on making the story a little longer.  Our anthology goal was to have stories around 15,000 words.  Mine came in a little short at about 10,800.  Once I started going back through it I found lots of places to beef up the dialogue, intensify the detail, etc.  So, I’m well over 11,000 words now, and I’m sure it’s not done growing.

The story had already gone through a round of critiques with the writing group, and so I have some good direction on where it should go as well as some ideas I have to chance things.  So, that gives me only 12 days to get it rewritten, revised, polished and submitted.  I can do it.

The good news is that this will be the first time I’ve ever actually submitted my work for a professional contest.  Even though I was an english major in college and wrote what seems like infinite amounts of words, I’ve always shied away from putting my work out there for others to see and critique.  If I plan on becoming a published author, this is obviously something I’m going to have to get over.  The bad news is that this is going to take the bulk of my writing time which means no new material for the Moonstones project for the next couple weeks.  We’ll have to see how things go because I would really like to get in some good time over the week between Christmas and New Year.

Wish me luck.

In the meantime, I’m always on the hunt for good writing blogs.  I recently discovered limebird writers (through NaNoWriMo) which has grown tremendously in a very short time.  There are several authors which post on the site.  Check it out.  It’s worth your time.

Anybody else follow good writing blogs you’d like to share?

5 thoughts on “getting back on the horse

  1. Congratulations on your nano finish – I always get a bit tired towards the end, so I take two weeks and then get back on the horse as well. Limebird is wonderful – might I also be so bold as to suggest our blog? We, too, are a writing blog and we generall post every other day. There’s only two of us, so we lack the great diversity of Limebird (they’re so cool) but we like to think we’re pretty cool!

    • Kaitlin, thanks so much for your comment. I’m just a solo here myself, so I know where you’re coming from. I wish I could get a post out every other day. I’ll head over to your blog and check it out. Make sure to check back here often as well. Thanks again!!!

  2. No worries. i’m working on my anthology novelette as well. Rather than enter it in Writer’s of the Future, though, I’m going to experiment with digital publishing on via Kindle Direct and PubIt….should be educational.

  3. Don’t forget create space has a contest accepting submissions beginning January 23. I think its called Breakout Novel contest. Take a look. I finished my 5th year with nanowrimo this year. I absolutely love it! Good luck on your contest.

Leave a Reply

