NaNoWriMo (day 10)

Goal:       1667

Written:  4034

Total NaNoWriMo Words:  27255

Total Novel Words:  71759

 

Sorry for the missed day yesterday.  I think I’m coming down with a bit of a cold.  I was so tired last night that I almost didn’t even give it an attempt.  But, I committed, and so I forced myself to put my butt in the chair and hands on the keyboard.

I stared at the screen for a long time before I got a few words written.  I ended up writing 1115 words last night before I finally gave up.  Those took me over an hour.  At one point (this is the honest truth), I actually dozed off with my hands still on my keyboard.  That’s when I knew enough was enough.  So, I went to bed, too tired to even update my blog.

Today I was feeling pretty tired too.  My throat’s been a little sore all afternoon after a few long phone calls I was on at work.  I was nervous I was going to have a repeat of last night, and so I jumped on the computer much earlier than normal.  If my body was going to crash out early on me, then i was going to get as much written as possible.

It was actually a bit of a slow start, and then things took off.  I created a new character element to one of my villains that I wasn’t expecting and is going to be really fun to write.  I also went back and made a slight tweak to something I wrote a few days ago that’s been buggin me.  I know.  I know.  This is not the time for rewrites.  But once I realized in my head how it needed to be, I had to go back and fix it or else it wouldn’t have meshed with the way that particular issue is going to be handled from here on out.  So, sue me.

Other than that, things went great.  i banged out 4034 words in a short amount of time.  When you combine that with my measly 1115 from yesterday, I still end up with 2550 words per day averaged over the two days.  In other words, in one sitting I got all my words for today PLUS made up all the lost time from yesterday and then some.  VERY happy about that.

My overall average for 10 days is 2725 words per day.  I couldn’t be happier.  I included a screenshot of my NaNoWriMo states graph for your viewing enjoyment.  The brown lines represent my word count each day  The gray horizontal lines are the word benchmarks.  The grey dotted diagonal line represents where my brown lines (words written) need to be each day in order to reach 50000 words by day 30.  So, as you can see, I’m WAY ahead of the game.  I’m not supposed to reach 30000 words until day 18, and I’ll hit it on day 11 (tomorrow).

K, gotta run.

More tomorrow!

PS, Thanks to my new followers.  I appreciate your following my journey.  Tell your friends!!!

 

Leave a Reply

