NaNoWriMo (day 7)

Goal:        1667

Words Written:  3434

 

What a day.  Today was a repeat of yesterday.  I got home from work tired, had dinner and then went shopping with the family.  By the time we got back, it was late, and we had to get kids into bed.  I was tired and at 10:00 laid down in my bed with serious thoughts of giving up for the day.  One missed day isn’t going to kill me right?  I mean, c’mon, I am over 5,000 words ahead of schedule.

WRONG

I committed to write every single day.  And, by golly, unless i’m sick or dying or bleeding out my eyes or fingers (well, I could probably put band aids on if it was just my fingers), I’m going to follow through with that committment.  So, I watched a quick show to get my mind relaxed and at 11:00 sat down to start writing.

I’ve been excited to write today’s scene because I knew it would involve a fight scene (an assassination attempt) as well as the first real use of magic in the book).  So, I was looking forward to writing it and finding out what happened.  But, at the same time, I attacked it with some trepidation because I wasn’t quite sure HOW to write a fight scene, having never really done a detailed one before.  But, once I started writing, the words flowed.  I didn’t even know this was coming but was sad to find out that two characters died in the scene.  I wasn’t planning on it when the scene started.  But, I didn’t have any choice.  The story goes where the story goes.

Anyway, I exceeded my already increased goal by almost a thousand words.  I’m very happy with that.  I’m trying to build up a nice cushion in case I do actually end up bleeding out my eyes or being sick or dying later on in the month and have to take a day off.  Let’s keep our fingers crossed that that doesn’t actually happen though.

I also went to the store today and bought several big white poster boards which I am going to tack to the walls in my office.  I’m going to make several charts for the story (characters, plot lines, etc.) so I have some visual reminders as I write.  There are too many characters now for me to remember all their names.  I was planning on doing that tonight but that this point, I’m just glad I even wrote at all.  So, hopefully tomorrow I can spend some time on that.  And, let’s not forget that I still need to read my dang book to get caught back up.  I need more hours in a day!!!

More soon!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo (day 7)

    • Thanks, Mark. This has been an absolutely amazing experience for me so far. I’ve written in a week more than I ever have before in a whole month I think. The deadline has been awesome because I’ve been on a regular schedule and the words are just pouring out. I was totally stagnant before, so this is a nice change!

Leave a Reply

