NaNoWriMo (day 4)

Just a quick update.

The story is flowing along nicely.  I’ve had such a lag in time since I was last writing heavily that I’ve forgotten too many of the details.  I’m now over the 50,000 word mark for the story, and so I can’t remember a lot of things.  I’m putting it onto my iPad as we speak so that I can spend some time tonight and tomorrow rereading so I can get back up to speed on the nitty-gritty.

As I mentioned yesterday, the goal for NaNoWriMo is 50,000 words in the month, or 1,667 words a day.  Other than the very first day, I have written 2500 or more words every day.  I’ve made this my new goal instead of the 1667.  If I keep that pace up, I’ll have written 75000 words before the month is up.  Nothing to shake a stick at.  That will put me at almost 125k on the whole, and I think that from there I should be able to easily push towards the finish around the 150k word mark.  Very excited at the thought of actually getting the first draft wrapped up.  This project has been a dream of mine for a VERY long time.

For today, I wrote 2,550 words for a grand total in 4 days of 8,359 words.  It’s amazing to think about.

I’ve found myself in a few writing situations where I just wasn’t sure the best way to actually put a description down or handle a dialogue, so I’ve had to do a little research reading (poor me, right?).  WRONG.  Not when the research reading is The Way of Kings, Book One of The Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson.  If you haven’t read it, you’re missing out.  You can read sample chapters here.  It’s amazing what a truly gifted storyteller like him can do.

I realize I’m going to have a ridiculous rewrite/edit ahead of me.  But, I’m taking everyone’s advice and NOT going back right now in the middle to do that.  I’m going to power through and finish my first draft and THEN work on a rewrite.  The thought of actually finishing this and getting it submitted for publication is exciting beyond measure!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo (day 4)

  1. Go for it, Scott. Don’t get lost in the middle. Keep writing until the draft is finished. Keeping telling yourself revising is for later, revising is for later. I have to remember that too. Revising is for after the first draft.

Leave a Reply

