rereading

Writing Goal:       2500 Words

Words Written:   0 Words (yes, that zero is on purpose)  (no, it’s not a bad thing)

I decided to try something new.  I’ve always tracked my word count (goal v. words written) in a spreadsheet so that I knew how much I was writing and how often.  But, I’ve not really ever shared that before.  I thought that I would start keeping a bit of a writing journal on here both so you know how the work’s progressing and for a little public accountability.  I figure that if I share with you how I’ve met (or miserably failed) my goal, then it’ll help.  Right?

Don’t be discouraged by the big fat zero laughing menacingly above.  It’s not indicative of effort.  I am working.  I’m just not actually writing, yet.  I started to, don’t get me wrong.  But, my book is too lengthy at this point with too much going on to be able to just jump back into writing without a thorough reread.  Too many little plot arcs are surfacing.  Characters are developing.  These are all things I would miss if I just started writing.  I have some good ideas for scenes coming up, but in order to be true to the story and characters, I need to refamiliarize myself with them.  Oh, they’re not gone.  Just sort of like old friends that I haven’t seen in a while.  We’re getting reacquainted rather quickly.  Like riding a bike.  But, I still need to do it.  And, now that we’re talking again, I realize I quite missed them.

At the rate I’m going, I should have my reread complete by the end of this week so that I can start putting pen to paper, metaphorically of course, this weekend.  Then the numbers should start aligning a little better.

This reread is a dangerous thing, though.  You often hear writers say that the most important thing is to just freaking write the first draft.  Don’t get caught in the quagmire of rewriting before it’s finished, or you’ll never make it there.  I’m finding there’s actually a lot of truth to that.  As I read the pages I wrote a long time ago, I’m seeing SO many things that I want to change.  Stylistic problems.  Character traits.  Worldbuilding.  etc.  But, I’m consciously forcing myself NOT to touch them right now.  Once the entire draft is complete, I’ll go back and do it.  By then, I’ll know the entire story and it’ll be easier to fix the earlier problems to make them align.

In any event, I just wanted y’all to know that the work is progressing.

More to come on that front soon.

_____________________________________

ps – I know I mentioned this before, but I thought I’d touch on it again.

You all know that I just finished Patrick Rothfuss’ new novels, The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear.  I’ve raved about them already, more than once, so I’ll try not to do that again here.  But, reading such great novels makes me sit back and wonder what it is that makes a book so good?  Why is his book devoured when so many others languish.  It’s daunting when you think that for every one Rothfuss or Sanderson that there are seemingly infinite nameless writers who get small first publication runs and then their books don’t even make it to your neighborhood bookseller.  Why do some writers take so long to break into the market (Sanderson wrote almost 10 novels before his first was published) when others have HUGE success with their first (J.K. Rowling, Stephanie Meyer, Brandon Mull).  Are they better writers than Sanderson?  Absolutely not.  So what is it?

Luck?  Good timing?  Coincidence?  Pure happenstance?  Divine intervention?  Probably a little bit of all of those, actually.  But, I think the most important thing that all of them had is, well, a book.  So, I’ll finish mine first and then ask the questions later.  🙂

Leave a Reply

