fingers rusty

I bet you’ve been wondering where I’ve been for the past couple weeks.  It’s funny how writing is like any other thing in life.  When you do it every day it’s easy to sit down and do it every day.  But, if you get out of the groove and let several days or a week go by without writing, it’s like pulling teeth to get back into the habit again.

I’ve set a pretty lofty goal for this weekend: 20,000 words.  I’ve never written that much in 2 days, but we’ll see.  I got on tonight to at least refamiliarize myself with my most recent material.  I also wrote almost a thousand words.  I’m starting to worry that I’ve got a pacing issue.  I need to find a good proofreader with some editing experience to see whether I’m on the right track.

I also realized that I need to go back and insert a chapter dealing with my antagonist and his attempts to undermine the Emperor.  I’ve been meaning to all along, but I’ve gotten too far into the book without it, so I have to go back and add it.

It’s tricky to write various plot lines at the same time, but I can’t very well carry a single plot line throughout the novel and keep interest.  Man, the things you take for granted that good authors do.

But, as I once heard, the difference between writers and nonwriters is that writers write.  So, I’ll just keep plunking along!  Keep your fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

