progress

Finally sat down and did some writing tonight.  1,682 words written in about an hour’s worth of time.  Fun stuff going on in the book, and I just wrote in a scene where a couple new characters were introduced (the first notable females), one of whom is going to play a fairly substantial role in the story.

I once again find myself struggling to not copy the material I’ve read recently.  These two women are meant to be pleasant yet dangerous.  Skilled hunters and trackers.  I keep seeing in my mind the women of the spear from the Wheel of Time Novels, but I’m trying to be careful not to go too far into that area.  I don’t want these women to be warriors, just respectable in their own right.  I know I’ve touched on this before, but it’s so hard to not let your writing be influenced too much by what you’ve read. 

Well, It’s late, and I have an early morning, so I’m going to wrap this one up.  HUGE milestone tonight.  I hit the 40,000 word mark.  SInce my novel is going to be approximately 200k words, I just finished 20% of the entire story.  SO much more to be written and not enough room it seems.  I’ve got to get the story moving, and I’m a bit concerned that I’ve got a pacing issue, but that’ll be the subject of some serious peer reading.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

