trudging along

I had a good night tonight.  As you are aware, my writing has suffered because of other, shall we say, unimportant drains on my time which have kept me from sitting down and writing.  I finally had to set some restrictions on myself today.  I set a goal that I could not do any extracurricular activities until I chunked out at least 5,000 words.  Without the other distractions, I was actually able to get some writing done tonight.  I didn’t quite make 5,000 in one night, considering that I had to take a couple hours off to help with kids, house, homework, babies, etc.  But, I did get 3,520 words written which is a huge step forward for me.  I’m now well over 20,000 words written.  That’s an accomplishment.  My goal for this novel is to be in the 150k-200k range, which puts me currently at 10+% complete.  I would have made it even further tonight except that I had to go back and rewrite a few scenes because I changed the backstory on my protagonist and his brother.  (shhhh, they’re now twins).

I also forced myself to sit down and sketch out a rough map of Vorimaya (the world in which the book takes place).  You don’t realize how much logistical tracking goes into writing a novel until you start getting far enough into it that you can no longer remember every character, where every landmark is, etc.  So, I’ve had to start indexing characters and items as well as doing a little cartography.  I just wish I knew how to draw!  🙂  Still trying to come up with some good names for people and places in the story, but it’s coming nonetheless.  I introduced a new villain today by the name of Haktor.  He is going to play a fairly substantial role, though not even he realizes it yet.

I also introduced a new artifact weapon into the story called Mirrod which is being held by the protagonist, Leef, but is dangerous because it does not want to be wielded by him and has a mind of its own.  It will add an interesting element into the story.  I’m excited to see how that plays out.  I have a feeling it’s going to be significant to the story.  I’m more excited than anybody to find out what.  🙂

That’s all for now.  I’ll update more soon.  And, I think I’m about ready to post some more material.  I’ve been kicking around the idea of actually posting full chapters at a time (as opposed to little snippets here and there) so you can read the book with me as I go along.  But, I just haven’t been able to bring myself to do it yet.  Is that something you’d be interested in?  We’ll have to see.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

